12 months later…

Happy new year!!! Sorry it is coming late, but I’ve been unavoidably caught with activities that goes with the festive season, you know how it goes πŸ˜‰. My apologies to everyone.

Before the new year started, I took some time to sit back and reflect on how far I’ve come in the previous years. In my personal journey, through the highs and lows, and I can’t help but be thankful to God for the journey so far.

In my first post for the year 2017, I’d be writing about 12 things that I’m thankful for. Yes it is normally done towards the end of a year, and I’m supposed to start the new year with a ‘new year resolution’ post and blah, blah, blah, but i beg to differ. So here goes the 12 wonderful things I am thankful for.

                1. Family

You don’t choose your family, they are God’s gift to you, as you are to them. 

Desmond Tutu.

I am thankful for my family. Mom, Dad, Kelly and Gift my two sisters, Joshua and Theophilus my two brothers. I am thankful to have these lovely people to call family, who whenever I’m down, they are there for me with unconditional love and support. I wonder what life would be without them really.
                     

                   2. Friends

There are some people in life that make you laugh a little louder, smile a little wider, and live a little bit better.

-Unknown.

I have been blessed with amazing friends who have stuck with me through thick and thin, some who were once strangers, but have turned family today. 

To my friends Laura, Bella, Kim, Harry, Mirabeth, Marcel, Ose, Esther and my oldest friend Divine, who have made my journey worthwhile and my memories with every single one of them cherished. I am thankful for having them in my life.

.                    3. Mentor

The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be kindled.

-plutarch

I am thankful for my two mentors, Michelle Dede, and Mr Christopher Egbubo. Both amazing people who have added value to my life in various ways. Especially Michelle, who saw potentials I didn’t see in myself, and have been there to teach, guide, encourage, support and cheer me on towards becoming the best version of myself. 

I’m thankful for the privilege to have two phenomenally, highly disciplined, and successful people to mentor me. 

                      4. Faith

I am thankful for how far I have come in my Christian faith. From being a young woman, who was struggling to pray, to becoming someone who prays frequently and with faith. I have not attained the level of spiritual growth I desire, but I’m thankful for how far I’ve come in my personal walk with God. 

                      5. Blog

Yass! I am thankful for Ella writes ng blog, a dream that was birthed many months ago. 

I am thankful for the opportunity to share my talent and passion with the world through blogging. I am thankful for the immense growth I have encountered in these months, I am thankful for all the amazing, talented writers, and bloggers I have been privileged to connect with here. I am thankful for everyone who ever took the time to check out this blog and even send a feedback on each post. You are all amazing and I’m thankful for everyone of you.

          6. Disappointment/fear 

Every disappointment is a blessing in disguise.

-Dad.

I’m thankful for all the no’s, sorry’s, and next times I got, because without them I wouldn’t have worked harder to be where I am today. So yes, they were my driving force at some point and I’m thankful they came because God had better plans for me. 

                    7. Charity 

We make a living by what we get, and a life by what we give.

-Winston Churchill.

The yuletide season is the season of love and happiness. I am thankful for the opportunity to give back to the society by volunteering at #Thecharity2016 event that held on the 26th of December at makoko a community in Lagos state Nigeria. 

I am glad to have been able to put a smile on the faces of the less priviledged, by simply being there to help. 
                  8. Cosy place

My bedroom and reading space which I have spent most of my free time in, birthing these wonderful ideas, and creative pieces that you read here and online. I am thankful for this private space where I get to relax, unwind, and enjoy solitude in. In short I am thankful for a roof over my head!

                9.Pair of shoes

My sneakers! The most cosy and comfortable space where I enter and literally feel on top of the world! I am thankful to have them especially when I wear them for a walk, to work, or even hang out with friends. 
                 

                10. Experience

Experience is the best teacher, the more we live, the more we learn.

-super story TV series.

 I am thankful for all I experienced in these 12 months. The good, the bad, the ugly, and unexpected. I am thankful that they happened, because they helped to shape me into a better, stronger person.

                     11. Quote

The lord himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you or forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.

-Deuteronomy 31:8 

The above scripture came at the right time when I most needed it, I was going through a rough patch and God through my mentor, Michelle Dede gave me that word. Through the year 2016 especially when things were difficult for me, that word have been my guide. So I am thankful for the word of God in my life, which has become my favorite mantra! 

        12. Most thankful for

Gratitude is an attitude of humility in vastitude. 

-Ella Chikezie.

Above all, I am most thankful that I can walk, run, laugh, play, eat, breathe and just simply live! I am thankful for life! I am thankful for a new year! I am thankful for the endless possibilities and opportunities that God have in store for me.

What are you thankful for?

Ella Chikezie. Β© 2017.

Leave a Reply

