Musings of a writer

I have never felt the urge to write about my personal experiences more strongly than in the past few weeks. Here’s the thing, I love writing. I love the beautiful process of imagining, thinking, and conjuring up words to paint images in the mind of my readers. 

In the past, I’ve struggled with myself whether to write fiction or Real stories about real situations. In as much as I love creative writing, I’ve always felt this huge gap in my writing. It feels like something is not there yet, like there’s a message I need to pass across to someone by writing my own truth and not just stringing words outta my imaginations alone. Now, don’t get me wrong. I love creative writing a lot! A whole lot! But isn’t there more to give by writing my truth?, isn’t there more to learn by writing my own experience? 

I’ve been blogging for over a year, though I’ve been on and off here. When I started this journey, I had no idea what I was getting into, i had very sparse knowledge of blogging. I only knew I had the “writing gift” and I heard wordpress was an online platform to express that “gift”, so off I went to sign up and how I couldn’t wait to add the suffix-“blogger” to my profile. 

Looking back, I realize that like few others who started blogging with little or no knowledge of it, I didn’t even know what I was blogging about. Mind you this was not out of lack of creativity, or lack of contents, but the confusion of not knowing which contents to choose.  

Yes, my mind bubbles with brilliant creativity. Yes, I write all the time. Yes, I even read often. But why did I start blogging in the first place? Was it out of the sheer desire to show off my writing skills? Was it to share knowledge? Was it to add value to someone else’s life? Was it to prove something to myself or others? 

Looking forward, I feel I have more to offer, and it goes beyond creative writing. I want to write my own truth, I want my words to be made flesh in that someone can read it and relate with it. I’m not a motivational speaker, but I want my words to “touch” someone’s life. Maybe someone can learn from my own personal experience who knows?

Your writing voice is the deepest possible reflection of who you are. The job of your voice is not to seduce or flatter or make well-shaped sentences. In your voice, your readers should be able to hear the contents of your mind, your heart, your soul. 

-Meg Rossof 

We all have a voice crying to be heard, and our individual stories yet to be told. 

I have my own story, and whether or not it inspires the next person in the room, that doesn’t matter. What matter is that my story must be told. 

I am starting an online diary session on the blog next month. I would be writing about memories from my childhood, and I very well intend to write my own damn truth. I’ve got so much to write about. Please that doesn’t mean I won’t write fiction and poetry.

With a full heart, I look forward to interacting with you. 

Do send me feedbacks or email me at ellachikezie@gmail.com I would love to read all about your experiences as I open up about mine.

Xo. 

© Ella Chikezie 2017

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please remember to like, comment, share, and “follow” and/or subscribe here before you leave. Have a blessed day!  Come join me onTwitter , Facebook and Instagram. See you there!

2 thoughts on “Musings of a writer

Leave a Reply

