Before the war.

Take me back to the days where

we sat by the evening light, 

and listened to timeless tales,

about conquests of fearless men. 

•

Take me back to the days when

we ran barefooted,

trudging along baked red earth,

as we sang songs of our innocence.

•

Take me back to the days when

we danced with a carefree spirit,

and wondered when,

we would ever touch the skies.

•

•

Take me back to the days that

we stood by the shorelines,

and watched the waves,

wash away our fears.    

•

Take me back to the days,

just before the war,

when I was a happy child.        

•

© Ella Chikezie 2017    

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please remember to like, comment, share, and “follow” and/or subscribe here before you leave. Have a blessed day!  Come join me onTwitter , Facebook and Instagram. See you there!

5 thoughts on “Before the war.

Leave a Reply

